News

A NINTH REPATRIATION!

Photo - Dr Saima Hassan, nouvelle chercheure rapatriée

A ninth repratriation

Thanks to the Reverse the Brain Drain program, the Institut du cancer de Montréal actively pursues the recruitment of Quebec clinicians who left to practice medicine abroad. As part of this program, we welcomed Dr. Saima Hassan into our ranks in 2016.   

Dr. Saima Hassan is an oncologist surgeon, researcher, and assistant professor at the Université de Montréal. 

Born in Montreal, Dr. Saima Hassan holds a diploma from the Faculty of Medicine and General Surgery at McGill University. She completed a PhD in translational research on diagnostic and prognostic markers in the context of breast cancer metastases. She went on to complete a fellowship in general surgery for oncology, with a focus on breast cancer and melanomas. She went through three years of postdoctoral research studying the pre-clinical role of PARP inhibitors in triple-negative breast cancer at the Oregon Health and Science University in Portland, Oregon. Dr. Hassan also carried out clinical activities in breast cancer under the supervision of Dr. André Robidoux. Dr. Hassan’s main focus is breast cancer.  

 

Reverse the brain drain

 

In 2007, the Reverse the Brain Drain program was born in order to combat the loss of trained individuals, which was perceived as a threat to the Montreal scientific community’s ability to flourish. This program, initiated by the Institut du cancer de Montréal, has allowed us to repatriate nine high-level researchers who were pursuing their careers abroad. Not only did these researchers come to the CRCHUM as part of the Institut du cancer de Montréal, they also brought their expertise on maximizing grants received through this program and standing out in provincial and national grant competitions. Dr. Saima Hassan joined the team in 2016 (see below).

The Institut du cancer de Montréal’s board of directors has been pleased with the success of the repatriated researchers, as it demonstrates in a concrete manner that they made a judicious choice of candidates and that they deserve the trust that the Institut granted them in providing start-up funds in the amount of $250 000 to support these researchers during their first five years back in Montreal.

Nouvelles

Dr Saima Hassan, nouvelle chercheure rapatriée

Photo - Dr Saima Hassan, nouvelle chercheure rapatriée

Un neuvième chercheur rapatrié !

L’Institut du cancer de Montréal poursuit, grâce au programme Rapatriement des cerveaux, des recrutements-clé de cliniciens québécois qui étaient partis pratiquer la médecine hors du pays. En 2016, nous avons accueillie le Dre Saima Hassan dans nos rangs.   

Dr Saima Hassan est chirurgienne oncologue, chercheure et professeure adjointe à l’Université de Montréal. 

Née à Montréal, la Dre Saima Hassan est diplômée de la Faculté de médecine et de chirurgie générale de l’Université McGill.  Elle y a complétée un doctorat en recherche translationnelle portant sur les marqueurs diagnostiques et pronostiques dans le contexte des métastases du cancer du sein.  Elle a effectuée un fellowship en chirurgie générale oncologique, avec une concentration sur le cancer du sein et le mélanome.  Elle a effectué trois ans de recherche postdoctorale en étudiant le rôle pré-clinique des inhibiteurs de « PARP »  des cancers du sein triple-négatifs au Oregon Health and Science University, à Portland en Oregon. La Dre Hassan a également effectuée des activités cliniques en cancer de sein sous la supervision du Dr André Robidoux. La Dre Hassan s’intéresse principalement au cancer du sein.

Le rapatriement des cerveaux

En 2007 est né le programme Rapatriement de cerveaux, visant à contrer l'exode des cerveaux alors perçu comme une menace à l'épanouissement de la communauté scientifique montréalaise. Ce programme, instauré par l'Institut du cancer de Montréal, a permis de rapatrier neuf chercheurs de haut niveau qui poursuivaient leur carrière à l'extérieur du pays. Ceux-ci sont non seulement venus s'installer au sein du CRCHUM à l'Institut du cancer de Montréal, mais ont su maximiser les subventions reçues dans le cadre de ce programme et se sont démarqués lors de concours de subventions à l'échelle provinciale et nationale. La Dre Saima Hassan s'est jointe à l'équipe en 2016 (voir ci-dessous).

Le conseil d'administration de l'Institut du cancer de Montréal se réjouit devant le succès des chercheurs rapatriés, puisque cela démontre de façon concrète que leur choix de candidats fût judicieux et qu'ils méritent la confiance que l'Institut leur a accordée en leur fournissant des fonds de démarrage de 250 000 $ pour les soutenir durant les cinq premières années de leur retour à Montréal.