Dr Diane Provencher, M.D., F.R.S.C., FACOG

Full professor, University of Montréal;
Dept. Obstetrics and Gynecology, Division Gyn-Oncology, Faculty of Medicine;
Institut du cancer de Montréal, CRCHUM, University of Montreal.
 
Key words: gynecological cancer, ovarian cancer, hereditary cancer, ovarian cancer models, molecular signature, biomarkers, clinical research

 

1979 M.D., Université de Montréal

1984 F.R.S.C.(c) McGill Univiversity, Dept. Ob-GYN

1986 F.A.C.O.G. McGill University, Dept. Ob-GYN

1992 ABOG - GYN-Oncology sub-specialty University of Miami, Division GYN-Oncol.

  • 2015-2017 (co-PI) Operating grant, Cancer Research Society

    “Ovarian tumors on-chip: quantitative tools to predict chemo response using patient-specific proliferation assays”

  • 2015-2017 (co-PI) Operating grant, Cancer Research Society

    “PARP inhibitor response in epithelial ovarian cancer: theranostic biomarkers and combination therapies”

  • 2015-2016 (co-PI) Operating grant, Canadian Institutes of Health Research

    “Bridging discovery to clinic: from biomarkers to therapeutic developments in ovarian cancer” 

  • 2014-2016 (co-PI) Operating grant, Canadian Cancer Society Research Institute

    “Microfluidic based empirical testing versus predictive biomarkers to stratify cancer care in ovarian cancer patients”

  • 2011-2018 (PI) Team grant, Terry Fox Research Institute

    “A pan-Canadian platform for the development of biomarker-driven subtype specific management of ovarian cancer (Phase II)”

  • 2011-2018 (co-PI) Network grant, Fonds de recherche du Quebec-Santé

    “Réseau de recherche sur le cancer”

 

Awards and prizes

2014 Prix de reconnaissance Rodolphe Maheux - Association des obstétriciens gynécologues du Québec.

2011 RSNA Certificat of Merit in recognition of the excellent education exhibit LL-BRE4354: Is My Patient at Risk of Breast Cancer? 97th Scientific assembly and Annual meeting of the radiological society of North America

Clinical and molecular studies of ovarian cancer

Research projects of Dr. Provencher are in the field of gynecologic oncology. Dr. Provencher has a great interest in fundamental and translational studies of genetic and epigenetic events related to epithelial cancer of the ovary. She has extensive experience in cell culture and mouse xenograft models, and have participated in the development of several well-characterized spontaneously immortalized cell lines, primary cultures, spheroid 3D models, and recently ex-vivo microdissected tissues assayed on microfluidics. Dr. Provencher is also involved in the establishment and maintenance of an extensive ovarian tissue repository (including fresh frozen specimens from normal ovaries, benign and tumor tissues, primary cultures from clinical material and paraffin embedded samples). Moreover, Dr. Provencher is very active in clinical studies of phase I, phase II and phase III.

 

Current projects (techniques used):

  1. Biomarker studies in ovarian cancer using gene microarray, SNP array and deep sequencing, as well as immunohistochemistry or immunofluorescence on a tissue microarrays.

  2. Evaluation of the effects of poly-ADP ribose polymerase (PARP) inhibitors in ovarian cancer using our high-grade serous cell lines. Studies of new therapy strategies for the treatment of this disease.

  3. Characterization of small molecules inhibitors of the GTPase Ran in ovarian cancer cells having complex karyotype and aneuploidy.

  4. Analysis of ex-vivo chemotherapy response using microdissected tumors derived from ovarian cancer xenografts or patient samples, and maintained in microfluidics devices.

  5. Canadian Cancer Trial Group (formerly NCIC CTG) Phase II/III study of intraperitoneal chemotherapy after neoadjuvant chemotherapy for ovarian cancer (OV21). 

 Post-docs

  1. Abdul Lateef (lateefjh@gmail.com)

  2. Zied Boudhraa (boudhra.zied@gmail.com)

  3. Shuofei Cheng (shuofei.cheng@gmail.com)

  4. Laudine Communal (laudine.communal@gmail.com)

Former (past 5 years)

  1. Guergana Tchakarska

  2. Mohana Marimthu

  3. Michael Quinn

  4. Das Tamal

  5. Isabelle Letourneau

  6. Valérie Forrest

  7. Mustapha Benaissa

     

PhD Students

  1. Sylvie Clairefond (clairefond.sylvie@gmail.com)

  2. Hubert Fleury (fleury.hu@gmail.com)

  3. Yannick Huon (yannick.huon@gmail.com)

Former (past 5 years)

  1. Ingrid Labouba

  2. Philippe Gannon

  3. Magdelena Zietarska

  4. Julie Lafontaine

  5. Hervé Koumakpayi

     

MSc Students

  1. Alexandre Sauriol (alexandre.sauriol.1@umontreal.ca)

  2. Kayla Simeone (kayla.simeone@umontreal.ca)

  3. Sara Al Rubaish (sararubaish@hotmail.com)

Former (past 5 years)

  1. Khalid Akkour

  2. Marc Olivier Bienz

  3. Mélina Astolfi

  4. Jacinthe Roussy

  5. Rayane El Masri

  6. Lu-Lin Wang

  7. Véronique Barres

  8. Julie Desgagnés

  9. Karine Normandin

  10. Vincent Fradet

     

Research Associates

  1. Euridice Carmona (euricarmona@gmail.com)

  2. Cécile Le Page (cecilelepage@yahoo.ca)

  3. Benjamin Péant (peantb@yahoo.fr)

  4. Véronique Ouellet (ouelletv@gmail.com )

     

Senior Research Assistants

  1. Estelle Schmitt (estellem.schmitt@gmail.com)

  2. Kossay Zaoui (kossay.zaoui@mail.mcgill.ca)

     

Research Assistants

  1. Alexandria Aubourg (alexandria.aubourg.chum@ssss.gouv.ca)

  2. Chantale Auger (chantaleauger12@yahoo.com)

  3. Véronique Barrès (veronique.barres@gmail.com)

  4. Monique Bernard (monique.bernard@umontreal.ca)

  5. Renée Bernatchez (renee.bernatchez.chum@ssss.gouv.qc.ca)

  6. Christine Caron (caron_christine25@hotmail.com)

  7. Isabelle Clément (isclement@hotmail.com)

  8. Geneviève Cormier (genevievecormier@gmail.com)

  9. Manon de Ladurantaye (manon.deladurantaye.chum@ssss.gouv.qc.ca)

  10. Nathalie Delvoye (nathaliedelvoye@yahoo.ca)

  11. Lucresse Fuosso (lufossouo@yahoo.ca)

  12. Gabriela Fragoso (fragosogabriela@yahoo.com)

  13. Doris Jiofack (risdoj@yahoo.fr)

  14. Jennifer Kendall-Dupont (jen.kendalldupont@gmail.com)

  15. Kim Leclerc-Desaulniers (kimkim_0303@yahoo.ca)

  16. Liliane Meunier (liliane.meunier@gmail.com)

  17. Adriana Orimoto (adriorimoto@gmail.com)

  18. Lise Portelance (liseportelance@yahoo.ca)

  19. Claudia Syed (claudia.syed@gmail.com)

  20. Teodora Yaneva (teoyan@gmail.com)

     

Research Staff

  1. Ashley Harrison (ashley_s_harrison@hotmail.com)

  2. Zoey Masson (zoey.masson@gmail.com)

     

Admnistrative Assistants

  1. Louise Champoux (louise.champoux3@sympatico.ca)

  2. Mélanie Morin (melanie.morin.chum@ssss.gouv.qc.ca)

     

Scientific Writer

Jacqueline Chung (jwachung@gmail.com)

 

Bioinformatician

Nicolas Luc (nicol.luc@gmail.com)

  1. Ledermann, J.A., et al., Cediranib in patients with relapsed platinum-sensitive ovarian cancer (ICON6): a randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled phase 3 trial. Lancet, 2016. 387(10023): p. 1066-74.

  2. Kobel, M., et al., An Immunohistochemical Algorithm for Ovarian Carcinoma Typing. Int J Gynecol Pathol, 2016.

  3. Astolfi, M., et al., Micro-dissected tumor tissues on chip: an ex vivo method for drug testing and personalized therapy. Lab Chip, 2016. 16(2): p. 312-25.

  4. Fleury, H., et al., Novel high-grade serous epithelial ovarian cancer cell lines that reflect the molecular diversity of both the sporadic and hereditary disease. Genes Cancer, 2015. 6(9-10): p. 378-98.

  5. Chene, G., et al., Expression of Stem Cell Markers in Preinvasive Tubal Lesions of Ovarian Carcinoma. Biomed Res Int, 2015. 2015: p. 808531.

  6. Ancot, F., et al., Double PALB2 and BRCA1/BRCA2 mutation carriers are rare in breast cancer and breast-ovarian cancer syndrome families from the French Canadian founder population. Oncol Lett, 2015. 9(6): p. 2787-2790.

  7. Gambaro, K., et al., Low levels of IGFBP7 expression in high-grade serous ovarian carcinoma is associated with patient outcome. BMC Cancer, 2015. 15: p. 135.

  8. Belanger, M.H., et al., A targeted analysis identifies a high frequency of BRCA1 and BRCA2 mutation carriers in women with ovarian cancer from a founder population. J Ovarian Res, 2015. 8(1): p. 1.

  9. Greimel, E., et al., Quality of life of advanced ovarian cancer patients in the randomized phase III study comparing primary debulking surgery versus neo-adjuvant chemotherapy. Gynecol Oncol, 2013. 131(2): p. 437-44.

  10. Mackay, H.J., et al., Phase ii/iii study of intraperitoneal chemotherapy after neoadjuvant chemotherapy for ovarian cancer: ncic ctg ov.21. Curr Oncol, 2011. 18(2): p. 84-90.